Staff & Governors

Staff Directory

Senior Leadership Team

  • Headmaster
  • Headmaster’s wife
  • Deputy Headmaster
  • Bursar
  • Registrar

A.C.T. Inglis, Esq., B.A. (Hons), P.G.C.E.  (Classics)
Mrs O.S. Inglis, B.A. (Hons)  (MFL)
S.C. Attwood, Esq., B.A. (Hons) P.G.C.E.  (English)
G.H. Arthur, Esq., B.A. (Hons) MAAT
Mrs P.E. Gauci, M.A. (Cantab), M.Sc., M.B.A.

Senior Management Team

  • Director of Studies
  • Senior Masters
  • Designated Safeguarding Lead

J.R. Baxter, Esq., B.A. (Hons), P.G.C.E.  (Classics)
J.C. Morris, Esq., B.A. (Hons)  (PE)
T.D. Wyatt, Esq., B.A. (Hons) (History/English)
Mrs S.L.M. Attwood, B.Ed., (Hons), Cert O.C.R., Sp.L.D. (LS)

Secretary of the Common Room

  • Mrs P.J. Laviopierre, B.Ed  (Year 4)

Boarding House Parents

  • I.D.Hepburn,Esq.,M.A., Q.T.S. (Geog/P.E.)
  • Mrs L.A.L. Hepburn, B.S.c (Hons), P.G.C.E.


Director of Learning  and Teaching

  • A.W.J.Pilkington, Esq., B.Sc. (Hons), P.G.C.E. (Geography)

Teaching Staff

  • C.J. Bell, Esq., B.A. (Hons) (DT)
  • Miss E. Boyd B.A. (Hons)
  • A.J. Brown Esq. B.Sc. (Hons)., P.G.C.E. (Science)
  • L.A. Brown, Esq., B.Ed., M.Sc., P.G.C.E. (Science)
  • Miss L. Collins, A.R.C.M., Dip R.C.M.(Performance), (Music/Drama)
  • B.J. Champkin, Esq., B.Sc. (Hons), P.G.C.E. (PE)
  • R.N.M. Darling, Esq., B.A. (Hons), P.G.C.E. (Greek)
  • Mrs E. Goodbourn, B.A. (Hons), P.G.C.E. (French/Latin)
  • Miss A. Gluck, B.A., H.D.E., Q.T,S, (Maths)
  • Mrs L. Johnson-Brown, B.Ed., Dip Ed. (T.A. /RS/Science)
  • Mrs C.M. Kidson, B.A. Ed (Hons) (Year 3)
  • Mrs A. Oliver B.A., (Hons) P.G.C.E. (Drama)
  • L.J. Owens, Esq., M.Ed., B.A. (Hons), P.G.C.E. (English)
  • Mrs C.L.P. Payne, M.A. (Hons), B.S.c (Hons), P.G.C.E  (Maths)
  • A.J. Prichard Esq., B.A. (Hons), P.G.C.E. (RS)
  • Mme P.A. Simonin, B.A. (Hons), P.G.C.E. (MFL)
  • C.M. Schuman, Esq., B.A. (Hons), P.G.C.E. (Year 3)
  • P.N. Smith, Esq., B.A. (Hons) (Year 4)
  • Mrs O.P. Storchak, MSc OTTP (Maths)
  • Mrs J.W. Syckelmoore, B.A. (Hons) (Art)
  • Mrs M.P. Westley, B.A. (Hons), P.G.C.E. L.T.C.L. (Music)
  • A.F.J. Williams, B.Sc. (Hons), P.G.C.E. (Maths)
  • R. Willoughby, Esq., B.A. (Hons) (History/Greek)
  • G.J. Wootten. Esq., BEd. (Hons) (Digital Learning)

Nursery and Pre-Preparatory Department

  • Head   Miss A. Holifield B.A.(Hons)
  • Mrs S. George, Home Farm Secretary
  • Mrs R.E. Baxter, B.E.d (Hons)
  • Miss L. Collins, A.R.C.M., Dip R.C.M. (Perf.)
  • Mrs L. Hamilton-Shaw, B.A. (Hons), P.G.C.E.
  • Mrs H.K. Pool, B.A. (Hons), P.G.C.E 
  • Miss V. Thornburrow, Mont. Dip.
  • Miss J.E. Chandler, NVQ 3
  • Miss H.R. Jones, B.A. (Hons)
  • Mrs C.V. Kidd, NVQ 3
  • Mrs Z Webster, BTec Hort
  • Mrs H. Reid Hinchcliffe

Ducklings After School Club

  • Miss H.R. Jones, B.A. (Hons)

Administrative Staff

  • Mrs L.J.C. Rabbetts, CSBM P.G.C.E.,   PA to the Headmaster
  • Mrs S. Fulker, CSBM,   Assistant Secretary
  • Mrs A.R. Mason, B.A. (Hons), Housekeeping Bursar
  • Mrs J.E. Taylor, B.A. (Hons), Marketing Manager
  • Mrs F.J. Smith, Assistant Secretary
  • Mrs M. Pouney, O.A. Dip,  HR
  • Ms J. Axson, Finance Assistant
  • Mrs T. Cole, Finance Assistant
  • Miss K. Vincent, IT Support

Learning Support Department

  • Mrs S.L.M. Attwood, B.Ed.,(Hons), Cantab, Cert O.C.R., Sp.L.D. (LS)
  • Mrs D. Ffrench, B.A., P.G.C.E
  • Mrs P. Langford-Thomas, B.Ed.
  • Mrs G. MacEwen, B.Ed. (Hons) Cantab.
  • Mrs D. Preston, B.A. (Ed)
  • Mrs K.A. Wyrley-Birch, B.S.c (Hons), Level 7 Dip. O.C.R.

School Librarian

  • Mrs R.Y. Walker, B.A. (Hons)

House Staff

  • Mrs K. Cook, R.G.N    School Nurse
  • Mrs P. Bartlett, R.G.N  Bank Nurse
  • Mrs R. Ward, N.N.E.B.   Senior Day Matron
  • Mrs M Hatton, Matron
  • Mrs E Roshier, Matron

School Doctor

  • Dr J. S.H. Lennox, M.B.B.S., D.C.C.H., D.R.C.O.G., M.R.C.G.P.

Gap Students

  • Miss E. Connell  Oxley College, Aus.
  • Mr T. Dimleby  Christ’s College, N.Z
  • Miss A Macdonald  Mount St. Benedict R.C College, Aus.
  • Mr M Peddie  Westerford High School, S.A.

Visiting Staff


  • Mr C. Baker (Piano)
  • Mr G. Bentley (Percussion)
  • Miss L. Collins, A.R.C.M., Dip R.C.M. (Perf.) (Piano)
  • Mr M. Eckland (Brass)
  • Mr C. Green (Guitar)
  • Mrs L Hayles, MMus, dip R.C.M
  • Mrs G. Mason (Oboe)
  • Mr A. Mears (Clarinet and Saxaphone)
  • Miss M. Millar (Bassoon)
  • Mrs R Overend,  BMus., (Violin & Viola)
  • Mr R.F.H. Pickering, Adv. Dip.Ed., L.Mus.T.C.L. ARCM (’Cello)
  • Ms K. Preston, M.A. (Piano)
  • Mr S. Riddex, BA.(Hons), P.G.C.E., L.T.C.L., L.G.S.M.D. (‘Cello)
  • Mr G.R. Ruddock, A.G.S.M. (Trumpet)
  • Ms S. Whitling, B.Ed (Hons) P.A.S., N.A.P.T. (Percussion)


  • Mr M. Small (Judo)


  • Ms L. Penneycard, BA(Hons) (LAMDA)
  • Mrs C. Howard BA (Hons) (LAMDA)


The Governors are the Trustees of the Elstree School Charitable Trust. They come from a range of backgrounds and bring a wide variety of skills and experience to assisting the School in its management and operation and in many cases, they have had a long-standing involvement with the School.

  • J.B. Sunley, Esq. (Chair)
  • Mrs E.L.D. McGrath (Vice-Chair)
  • Mrs E.J.S. Boggis
  • J. Dahl, Esq
  • S.M. Hill, Esq
  • Mrs J.A. Lyons
  • Mrs E.E.A. McKendrick
  • N.M. Murphy Esq.
  • G.A.W. Owston, Esq
  • J.A.J. Vincent Esq.
  • R.B. Waller, QC

Latest News View All News ›

Year 7 Play in a Day

November 24, 2020

Last Thursday, Year 7 split into their three tutor groups to create a Play i…